William D. Beiswenger Volunteer Award


The William D. Beiswenger Volunteer Award was established in 2000 to honor its first recipient William Beiswenger, CPO, FAAOP, of Colorado Springs, Colo., for his outstanding record of volunteerism and his commitment to the ABC mission.

This prestigious award was created to recognize ABC volunteers who have distinguished themselves through their committed service to the mission of ABC by using their time, talent, vision and leadership.

Award recipients must have demonstrated a record of sustained commitment and leadership to the programs of ABC and to the orthotics and prosthetics profession, including but not limited to participating on task forces and/or committees for exam development and administration, facility accreditation, continuing education, professional discipline, or practice analyses; serving as an examiner; or serving on the board of directors as a member or officer. A selection committee made up of previous award recipients will inform the board of the person selected for the award​. ​This award is intended to be presented as deemed appropriate by the Board of Directors to no more than one person every 3-5 years.


William D. Beiswenger, CPO, FAAOP - 2000
Steven R. Whiteside, CO, FAAOP - 2002
William Teague, CP - 2005
Frank Friddle, Jr., CO, FAAOP - 2009
Donald D. Virostek, CPO - 2013
Michael J. Allen, CPO, FAAOP - 2016​​